Brambling

 Brambling  (Fringilla montifringilla) I think it's a female.
Brambling
(Fringilla montifringilla)
I think it’s a female.

The Brambling (Fringilla montifringilla) it’s a small bird very similar to Common Chaffinch(Fringilla coelebs). Both are similar in size and shape.  Brambling has yellow bill, orange breast and some dark spots.

Male
Male

It breeds in wooded areas of northern Europe and Asia and, as a migratory bird, visit our country only in winter.

I think it's a young Brambling
I think it’s a young Brambling

Its diet consists in seeds.

Male
Male

What’s very interesting about these small birds it’s that they argue for food, sometimes they can be very, very noisy.

Male
A very hungry male
8 thoughts on “Brambling

    1. Thank you!
      I discovered this bird this year, I even didn’t know it exists…
      But was a real pleasure to be only a few centimeters away from these little beauties.

  1. Excellent photos again! We have seen no bramblings at all this year, we think maybe because it’s been such a mild winter. Your photos show their plumage beautifully.

    1. Was the first year when I noticed them. At this moment, I am sure they are somewhere in North, perhaps in countries like Norway.
      I had a nice time watching them.

Leave a Reply

