Common Cuckoo chick

Spring’s arrival has many signs, especially plants and birds. For me, the song of cuckoo (Cuculus canorus) is one of those signs.

Cuculus canorus (1)

It was and it still is a joy to hear this mysterious bird singing on fields around our house.

I knew cuckoo it is a brood parasite but seemed to me like a fairytale, like something which might not be very true.

Cuculus canorus (2)
A few months ago I watched on YouTube some videos with chicks of cuckoo ejecting eggs of Reed Warbler out of the nest, I watched videos of small birds feeding huge cuckoo chicks and I could not believe it!

Until a few days ago when I was riding my bicycle and suddenly heard a noise, something like a chick begging for food.

Cuculus canorus (6)

I noticed a bird on a wire .

Cuculus canorus (3)

At the beginning, I didn’t recognized it but after a few moments I was sure it was a cuckoo chick.

Cuculus canorus (4)

Cuculus canorus (5)

And I waited to see who is feeding him.

Cuculus canorus (1)
That little bird was feeding this cuckoo. 🙂

I was amazed to see how such a little bird as a warbler was flying and catching insects and carrying them to its ‘chick’.

Cuculus canorus (7)

Cuckoo doesn’t kill small birds, but sometimes eats eggs and chicks.

19 thoughts on “Common Cuckoo chick

  1. I have seen those videos! It’s hard for us to imagine how the mother cannot recognize this chick as an intruder. It seems that the mother must bond with the chick as strongly as the chick bonds with the mother. Good to see you posting again. 🙂

    1. Thank you.
      I don’t know what a bird feels but she is so devoted to feed that chick! And the chick flies after her.

      It took me a while to post again.
      I have so many things to share with you all.

  2. Great photos, Cornel! Love the audio clip, too. We see and hear so few cuckoos these days. Yes, what a monster baby for that little bird to feed! It is like something in a fairytale, you are right.

    1. Thank you.
      I started to record sounds with my phone. Some of them are quite interesting and I believe they bring a plus to a post.
      We are surrounded by so many beautiful things! but so sad many people don’t have eyes to see them.

      1. You are right, Cornel. So much passes over people’s heads. But if you can teach someone to stop and look, that’s a good thing! We have just been watching a young blackbird getting grubs out of the lawn, and discussing how he can ‘see’ them when they are beneath the surface.

    1. Since I was a kid I knew cuckoo lays eggs in other’s birds nests but never imaged that birds actually feed them. 🙂 I know, sounds silly, but… Ha, ha.

    1. Thank you.
      I don’t know if it’s sad or not, maybe it’s just as it should be.
      Many times I am sad after this kind of episodes but after a while I understand nature is as it is and I cannot change something.

  3. Great series of photos, Cornel. We have that situation here with the parasitic Brown-headed Cowbird. It’s sad to see a much tinier adult feeding the demanding chick, but that;s nature.

  4. Great pictures, and interesting story. Such a little bird taking care of her new chick. I like to think it shows the power of adoption, you take care of your family no matter how it was formed!
    I was surprised that the sound clip with the bird call–sounds exactly like my cuckoo clock!

    1. Thank you.
      You know, I have the same thought: I think that little bird knows that’s not its chick but she will take care of it. Indeed, as you said, it shows the power of adoption.

    1. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw that little bird feeding such a big chick.
      Thank you for your visit.
      I really enjoyed your blog, you have many beautiful photos.

Leave a Reply

