Small things and little worlds

Beautiful head of a butterfly
Beautiful head of a butterfly

We are surrounded by so many beautiful things and we don’t even know it. Or, worse, we say there is enough time for all.

Maybe there is enough time, but what if there is no more enough time for me (or you)?
What if this is the last day when I am able to see?

You don’t want to think about such things but yet…there are chances, unfortunately.

I keep asking myself what I will do if one day I will be a blind man?
How others will know what I was enjoying? How I will be able to show them the world as I saw it and yet not seeing it anymore?

My answer is: through the photographs I have taken.

There are some creepy portraits.
Bun even these terrifying insects have their own tender moments. In the photo above, this insect was cleaning(?) its antennae using gentle his feet.
But even these terrifying insects have their own tender moments. In the photo above, this insect was cleaning(?) its antennae using gentle his left  foot.
IMG_1861
I found this butterfly standing on this flower. The light was poor and it was windy. 

 

IMG_1857
How incredible are its antennae!

I try to document many things like my belongings, our garden, our street, our neighbours, my dogs, our neighbour’s plants, the fields around our village, the forests, clouds, trees, bugs, and many other things. I take photos of my family, of my friends and of strangers.

Aster
Aster
Little insect, almost unnoticeable floating on water.
Little insect, almost unnoticeable floating on water.

You might say these things will always be there, or at least for a long time starting now. But the real live has proven to me that …you never know when you see something for the last time.

And I will give you two examples:
First one: about two years ago I was off for a while. When I returned home, I took my bicycle and had a ride. I was shocked to notice that somewhere, about 3 kilometers away our house, a large area of forest has been cut down.
By chance, just a few weeks before I had taken a few shots of some trees, branches and leaves from that place. I was sure they will still be there for a couple of years and I will keep returning year after year. I was so wrong…

Second one: my grandmother was blind for way too many years before she died…Then I didn’t understand her and neither her special needs. Maybe one day …I will…

Enjoy this journey called life. Take photos of your wife, husband, children, grandparents, friends, neighbours, even of yourself, of your belongings, of your street, of your town, of everything you enjoy and of many things which you think will be there at least for many years. You never know when they will disappear…

Have you noticed how beautiful are the wings of honey bees?
Have you noticed how beautiful are the wings of honey bees?
Their last pair of legs are special.
Their last pair of legs are special. They have a sort of baskets.
Honey bees collect pollen and carry it to the hives. Can you imagine the work behind your jar of honey from your kitchen?
Honey bees collect pollen and carry it to the hives. Can you imagine the work behind your jar of honey from your kitchen?
A flower for my grandparents…
cornelapostolbug (1)
For all these photos (except the one of butterfly standing on flower), I used this lens
13 thoughts on “Small things and little worlds

  1. You’re proving that a person doesn’t need fancy equipment to shoot great photos, just a love of nature and a good eye for photography! These are all excellent.

    Also, this is a very touching and well written post, you have a very kind heart,.

    1. Thank you for your kind words.

      You must have a kind heart because a person cannot see something on others if he doesn’t own himself.

      I have a great time when I take these photos but I still keep in my mind that I take photos of what I can, not of what I want. This is not your case.
      But I am glad this way.
      Some limitations might enlarge even more our freedom inside them.

      1. Thank you Cornel. You’re partially correct, I am photographing what I want in the part of Michigan that I want to photograph. However, the most scenic parts of Michigan, and the parts of it with the most varied wildlife are too far away for me to visit more often than once a year at most. Then, there’s all of the scenery of the United States overall, which in many places is great taking. Places like Yellowstone, Yosemite, Zion, and the Grand Canyon. Then, there’s my all time favorite place, the Canadian Rockies, which I was fortunate to visit once many years ago. The grass is always greener some where else, I think that it applies to both of us.

Leave a Reply

