Long Eared owl (Asio otus) – voice of owlet

Long_eared_owl (2)

Do you remember those annoyed long eared owls I photographed a few months ago?

In case you don’t remember, you can read more here.

Long_eared_owl (1)

A few weeks ago I heard some strange sounds in the trees of our garden. I searched on Internet and I discovered these sounds belong to Long Eared owlets.

I think there are three owlets.

I didn’t discover their nest but I heard them many times.

When I heard this for the first time was a bit creepy.



Long_eared_owl (3)Unfortunately, I don’t have any photo of these owlets.

16 thoughts on “Long Eared owl (Asio otus) – voice of owlet

  1. Beautiful birds! I hear them in the woods around us but rarely am lucky enough to see one. Especially in daylight when you can photograph them! Maybe you will see the teenaged owlets fledging and be able to take photos then.

    1. Yes, it is true, is much more interesting to have some sounds along with the photos.
      I will post more sounds, I think it’s interesting for some persons to hear them.

  2. That certainly does sound like a hungry chick! Better not try to get too close, those mother birds protect their young fiercely. 🙂

    1. I won’t try this because I am so busy during the day… but when I had some free time I saw nothing.
      I didn’t know mother owl protects her babies so much.

    1. Imagine three owlets calling… plus one mother. Plus our dogs, plus cars….
      But, unfortunately, our house is so close to a very crowded road… so lots of cars are passing all the time. So, in many of my recordings you can hear the noise of cars.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.